Linux Mint Debian Edition (xfce)

Posted on November 28, 2011

4


I’ve now installed Linux Mint Debian Edition on my Aspire One and I have to say I’m pretty happy. No indicators but I can live with that as long as everything works and it does. Moreover, it is a rolling release so that in principle, I never have to install another OS.

I downloaded LMDE Xfce4 (on the heavy side [1.1GB] with lots of apps that I don’t find useful but they’re easy to uninstall), created a live USB using unetbootin and then installed it to my Aspire One. I then added tweaks to control the fan and make the flash card slot work by modifying /etc/default/grub according to my Lucid HOWTO. After first install, there will be a huge number of updates but when all is said and done, you will be running the 3.0 kernel with a very functional and attractive system.

Posted in: HOWTO, LMDE